Posted on

Nasri and His Parting Shot

I know, I know, I keep banging on about Samir Nasri. But something about this whole transfer reeks (of oil maybe?).
Upon completing his move to the footballing mecca of the Northern Hemisphere, the Etihad Stadium (does anyone else appreciate the irony that Etihad reportedly means United?), Nasri has tried to ingratiate himself with his new supporters by insulting his previous paymasters.
“I can see they are really passionate and it reminds me a little bit of Marseille. Arsenal have good fans, but not that passionate since they moved from Highbury to the Emirates. I remember when we played against City, when we lost 3-0, the crowd was amazing. That is what I want. When you play football it is for a good atmosphere.”
Also, it seems that Nasri likes his men with lots of tattoos;
“They’ve got tattoos, the fans, of Man City. That’s what I like”
Each to their own, Samir, each to their own.
You can’t blame him for trying to win over the new support by telling them how much he likes their tattoos, or that there is nothing sweeter than the sound of 40,000 drunk Mancs singing Blue Moon whilst stroking the aforementioned tattoos and winking seductively at the players.
But did he need to stick the knife into the backs of his old supporters? I know he has since moved to clarify his remarks, but he’s a giant moron if he thought that the Arsenal supporters weren’t going to mind him using them as leverage.
For a start Nasri never even kicked a ball at Highbury. Why he even had to bring that up I’ll never know. And as for atmosphere, someone needs to point out to the sniveling little brown-nose that last season, in an independent study, Arsenal fans are (on average) a whole 6 decibels louder than their counterparts in Manchester (City, not United). If you don’t believe me click here for proof.
Now I’m not suggesting that Arsenal supporters don’t disappear from time to time. Their old stomping ground wasn’t called ‘The Library’ by visiting fans for nothing. But come on Samir; MAN UP. I’d have much more respect for the man if he just ‘fessed up and said; ‘you know what? City have tripled my wages. I like to go home after a hard days training and rub used £50 notes over my body as I dream about big hairy Northerners with lovely tattoos. That’s why I’ve moved.’
Instead he’s dressed it up as something completely different. He’s tried to make it sound like this transfer is purely about sporting reasons. Well, Samir, it quite clearly is not.
Considering all this has led me to think long and hard about what it must be like to be a supporter or player for a super-rich club.
At what point do you say; ‘it’s all about the money for me’, turn your back on your team mates and go off in search of that big pay day? And how can you justify it? Why not come clean and be honest with us; after all, most of us aren’t stupid.
And, if you’re a supporter, at what point does the team you’re following stop being your team? We’ll see the City fans gleefully crowing about their achievements, much in the way we’ve seen Chelski supporters do over the last decade. But when does the act of winning become more important than earning your win through graft and determination?
I don’t care what City go on and do over the coming years. I’m sure they’ll do pretty well. After all, they are paying top dollar for their success. But after the initial buzz of winning wears off, will it feel as sweet? Sadly the answer to that, judging by Chelski fans, is probably yes. But we know, and they know, that they haven’t really earned it. It’s like buying all the tickets to the raffle and then jumping around the room when, surprise surprise, you win all the prizes.
Nearly every other team in the country can be proud of what they win (if and when they win it). Why? Because they’re earning our success. And you know when you look at your team that you helped to build it. Our teams are an extension of us and our support. All the money in the world can’t replicate that.
Enjoy your success at City, Samir. You really, really haven’t earned it.
